Sunday, May 16, 2021

Rush Revere and the First Patriots by Rush Limbaugh

Rush Revere and the First Patriots is the second book of a five book series by Rush Limbaugh. In this book, the main protagonist Mr. Rush Revere and four students, Kam,
Tommy, Freedom, and Elizabeth, along with Mr. Revere's talking, time traveling horse Liberty of course, travel back in time to both England and New England just before the Revolutionary War. They participate in the Boston Tea Party, visit with Benjamin Franklin and other patriots, and even visit with King George III and find out a little about his thinking as well. Like the first book in the series, Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims, I thought that this was an entertaining and educational look into history, particularly the history of the United States. Rush Revere and the First Patriots was published in 2014.

Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims by Rush Limbaugh

Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims by Rush Limbaugh was a fun historical story that I feel children would enjoy. In the story, history teacher Mr. Rush Revere and his magical, talking, time traveling horse Liberty, bring history alive for his students at Manchester Middle School, especially Tommy and Freedom, two bright young students
who accompany him and Liberty to meet people like William and Dorothy Bradford, Miles Standish, Squanto, Samoset, and Masasoit. While the story did not ignore the fact that some of the pilgrims died that first winter (including Dorothy Bradford) the story doesn't dwell on it more than I felt was appropriate for a children's story. It was a fun and age appropriate look at one of the important parts in the history of the United States. Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims was published in 2013.

Saturday, May 15, 2021

Mercy Watson to the Rescue by Kate DiCamillo

Mercy Watson to the Rescue by Kate DiCamillo is a fun story for children. When Mercy Watson, a lovable, corpulent piggie crawls into bed with her owners, Mr. and Mrs. Watson, her
weight is too much for the floor, which begins to crack, threatening to spill all its occupants into the first story of the house. But not to worry! Mercy goes to the rescue! Or does she? Follow Mercy Watson on her adventure to...get sugar cookies? Or was it alert the fire department? This story is a funny tale for small children to enjoy, and it brings a smile to the faces of grown ups reading the story to children! This story was first published in 2009.

Sunday, May 2, 2021

Author J. Scott Savage

One of my favorite authors, and lucky for me, a good friend as well, is J. Scott Savage. As of the writing of this post, he is the author of 18 novels, including The Far World series, (Water Keep, Land Keep, Air Keep, and Fire Keep), the Mysteries of Cove series, (Fires of Invention, Gears of Revolution, Embers of Destruction) and The Lost Wonderland Diaries which has just begun. I love J. Scott Savage's books for the fun adventures they contain, the action that hardly lets up until the end, the surprising twists that happen, and the positive morals they teach kids (and adults) without being overly didactic.

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

The novel The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien is one of my favorite books of all time.The reluctant hero, a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins sets off on a quest to help a group of dwarves regain their homeland, an extinct volcanic mountain that is hollow inside, from a dragon that took it from them.
Hobbits, incidentally, are a human-like species that, when full grown, are only about 3.5 feet tall, at the tallest. Their feet are extremely tough, and therefore they don't need to wear shoes. Even in winter. On his adventures with his new friends, Bilbo Baggins encounters all sorts of trouble, from trolls to giant spiders. Will he succeed in his quest? And will he return home alive? Read the book and find out! The Hobbit was first published in 1937.

The Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull

The Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull follows the adventures of three friends, Nate, Summer, Pigeon and Trevor as they become aquainted with Mrs. White, the proprietor of The Sweet Tooth Ice Cream and Candy Shop, a new candy story in town. At first thinking that she is a sweet but otherwise unremarkable motherly middle aged lady they quickly discover that she has special candy. Candy that has magical properties.
It's pretty great to be able to pop a candy into your mouth, and then bounce around like you're on the moon, right? But Mrs. White doesn't just want to share her magical candy with the kids. When she starts asking them to do illegal things for her, the kids balk. And that's when Mrs. White shows her... not so sweet side. Can the kids avoid her wrath? And along with that, will they be able to help John Dart and Mr. Stott keep her from her ultimate goal...of taking over the world? Read the book and find out! The Candy Shop War was first published in 2007.